Getting Settled in

Well the rain continues here, and everything is shut down for labour day so I will fill you all in with the rest of our first week here.

But first…

giphy (2).gif

via GIPHY

I no longer have to move later this week. The plan was that I would stay at The Little Blue House for a week then move to Winoga Lodge. There are pros and cons to both locations but Chris and I struck an accord to my staying here until December. So I can actually unpack all my things. I’ll give you the tour in another post!

Anyhoo, I think I left off with my first trip to the hospital. One thing I made sure to ask everyone I spoke to there was “Where can I get some delicious pizza in this town?” And I was not given very positive answers – it seems pimping frozen pizza with other toppings was in my future, but when I returned The Boy had found that pizza can be ordered from Chicken Chef. Skeptical — I think so. But he was convinced it was a good idea and we should try their pizza. So we ordered a chef’s special pizza and a salad. And guess what – the chicken on the salad was very good and the pizza… hmm.. not so much. It will be nice to be in St Catharines, in a few weeks so I can enjoy Bella Noella’s before I fly back and until then I will be healthy and try not to think of pizza too much. Well after a slight GI situation we decided just to stay in and watch a movie, on Netflix. We enjoyed Romancing the Stone (1984 a very good year).  And a super enjoyable movie.

Friday the weather was predicted to be in the mid-twenties and sunny, so we wanted to spend as much time as possible outside. We wanted to hike Sioux Mountain (pictured above) as everyone we were meeting mentioned it, however the directions as to how were slightly different depending on who you spoke to. And how did it go you ask – we failed. Yep, we were unable to find the trail to the train bridge to cross the lake to hike. So it’s on my list of things to do this auntumn. We did tour around and enjoyed the sunshine by a couple of lakes.

After the epic pizza fail of Thursday night we decided to have dinner in. Another trip to the grocery store and another $80 later I made this gnocchi recipe and convinced The Boy, it is a good idea for him to make me some chili to freeze. And he did — score!!

Saturday I went into the ER to meet my preceptor and just get an orientation to the unit. First impressions — this ER is run with only 2 nurses! TWO! My experience with Grimsby’s community ER department was that most times we didn’t have enough nurses and there was at least 4. So when I realized this my first question was “What happens if there is a code blue in another part of the hospital?” The reply was pretty much what I expected — one ER nurse runs and there is a hope that wherever the code is happening another nurse will go the ER to help. Spooky right!

Okay so here is a sort of tour of the department. There are 4 minor treatment rooms, two of these have doors that completely close for privacy, all 4 have “magic curtains”. One isolation private room that has the anti-room for PPE and can be sealed for reverse isolation, and negative pressure.

There is a cast room, and an ENT room. One large trauma room equipped to treat 2 patients. And a few smaller rooms that are used for patients requiring mental health assessment. The ER department connects to another waiting room with treatment rooms that are considered “day medicine” patients. These are the ambulatory patients that are requiring frequent IV antibiotics, and dressing changes. Mon through Fri – there is a nurse who staffs this unit but on weekends these patients are seen through the ER.

It seems that home care only provides in home care to patients requiring these services if they cannot get to the hospital. So if the diabetic foot ulcer you have is so bad that you cannot transfer to vehicle to see a nurse at the hospital – then a nurse is booked to come to your home. But if you have someone to drive you, and can transfer to a wheelchair off to the hospital you go, sometimes 3 times a day if receiving antibiotics. Lack of nurses to do home care perhaps? I don’t know, I’ll see if I can obtain more information related to this.

The registration and triage process is also different then we see at home. Here the patient is registered first. Then the chart dropped off for the nurse to assess and determine the reason for visit. I was told that the registration staff is good enough that if they notice a very sick patient they do alert the nurses right away. And once the chart is made, the nurses work to triage each patient within 10 minutes of their chart being made. I wonder how much of a challenge this is?

Most times the ambulances do the same. They register each patient prior to entering the department so the chart is made for the nurse to use for assessment. Unless of course the patient is critical. I received a huge package of information related to the assessment skill of triaging and will get more education during the course of my time here.

So good first impressions with the team at SLMH and I look forward to the upcoming months! I guess I’ll end it here for today. Have some unpacking to do 🙂

This post was fuelled by Relay’s Sumatra Roast brought all the way from Hamilton and
Talking Heads Radio on Spotify

Also if anyone has a great crockpot recipe that freeze well please share in the comments section! Thanks and Enjoy your Monday!

Make sure you’re all caught up on my posts Click HERE

Leave a Reply

